History of NAGEC

nagec logo transThe Geriatric Education Center (GEC) grants were first awarded in 1984 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources Services Administration, Bureau of Health Professions (reorganized and renamed Bureau of Health Workforce, May, 2014) to SUNY at Buffalo,, Harvard University, Michigan University, and University of Southern California. These initial four grantees are known as the “Four Fathers”. In 1985, an additional 16 grantees were added and known as the “Sweet Sixteen”. Annual meetings of the GECs were held thereafter at workshops hosted by various GEC’s – the first was in Ann Arbor, the 2nd at Harvard, the 3rd at Buffalo, the 4th in Houston, and the 5th in Milwaukee. In 1989, discussions were first held to form a national association of and for GECs. After convening a sixth workshop in Clearwater Beach, FL and a seventh workshop in San Antonio, the National Association of Geriatric Education Centers (NAGEC) organization was officially established to promote interdisciplinary geriatric education and to provide a unified voice for the GECs.

After more than a decade of successfully working alongside each other, the GECs collectively wanted to pursue additional funding opportunities and service contracts. They also felt the need to maintain at least one lobbyist in Washington DC to protect the GECs interests. A lawyer was hired and all legal options were explored by the NAGEC Board. In 2005, the GECs voted to form two non-profit organizations due to restrictions related to lobbying activities: the National Association for Geriatric Education (NAGE, a 501c4 organization—an umbrella organization which includes all geriatric related education programs) and the National Association of Geriatric Education Centers (NAGEC, a 501c3 organization—limited to Geriatric Education Centers). Today these two organizations continue to unify the GECs to advance interprofessional geriatric education.

NAGEC Presidents

Evan Calkins, MD, SUNY at Buffalo, NY

Sue Levkoff, DSc, Harvard GEC, Cambridge, MA

Bob Roush, EdD, MPH, Texas Consortium GEC, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

Andrea Sherman, PhD, Consortium of New York GEC’s, New York University, New York, NY

NAGE/NAGEC Presidents

Elyse Perweiler, MPP, RN, NJ Geriatric Education Center, University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey–School of Osteopathic Medicine (UMDNJ-SOM), Stratford, NJ [Note: On 7/1/2013 UMDNJ-SOM became Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine (RUSOM)]

Edwin Olsen, MD, JD, MBA, Miami Area Geriatric Education Center (MAGEC) University of Miami, Miami, FL

Nina Tumosa, PhD, Gateway GEC, University of St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Linda Redford, PhD, RN, Great Plains GEC, University of Kansas, Kansas City, KS

Judy Howe, PhD, New York Consortium of Geriatric Education Centers Mount Sinai School of Medicine, NY, NY

Phil Clark, DSc, Rhode Island GEC, University of Rhode Island, RI

Bob Roush, EdD, MPH, Texas Consortium GEC, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

Ronni Chernoff, PhD, RD, Arkansas GEC, University of Arkansas Health Science Center, Little Rock, AK

Stacy Barnes, PhD, Wisconsin GEC, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI